a little bit of a resurrection
my life journal: cutmedown








divide or unite


Today they are having peace rallies all over campus from 12:30 to 8. As I was coming out of class I heard a huge group of people chanting. One guy would say: What do we want? And the group would shout: Peace! Guy: When do we want it? Group: Now! So for atleast a straight half hour it's just What do we want? Peace! When do we want it? Now! I can't get the chant to stop ringing in my ears.

Honestly, I am still completely confused about the entire war issue. In the beginning, I was 100% for it. The more that I learn day by day, the more my opinion is starting to sway. I think that the fact that the U.S. government has already alotted several billions of dollars in relief funds for the Iraqui people (after we get done bombing the hell out of them)when we haven't even declared war yet, is disgusting. First of all, that goes to show that we are going to do it, regardless. Second of all, the U.S. government has already divied up Iraq's oil plants. That is another bunch of bull shit. They are acting like we have already played this war out.

I thought that this war was necessary to protect homeland security, now I am not so sure. And if President Bush or "King Bush" (as my Racism & Sexism teacher likes to call him) is doing this for alterior reasons. I think that is disgusting. I can't be sure though. And that is why I will not march in the peace rallies or chant or anything else. I think that some people are just so quick to jump on the bandwagon without knowing the facts.

The girl who has been turning her back on the American flag during all the basketball games is another sick person. She is doing it because she is against the war in Iraq. For God's sake, am I the only one who thinks we need to come together as a people right now? We do not need to turn our back's on the one thing that unifies us as a country. We need to work to stop this war from happening or to carry out the war, if necessary, for the right reasons.

Chanting and turning your back on the flag just doesn't seem like the answer to me. I could be wrong, it's just hard for me to understand I guess. I think that it is disrespectful. And maybe protesting could be a good thing, but I think it is just ridiculous to have a bunch of college students, (who obvioulsy have atleast six thousand dollars a year to spend on schooling or are getting that money from the state) chanting about peace when that is all they have ever known. They do not know the first thing about living in a war torn country. Fearing for your life everytime you board a bus or step out your front door. Or crying yourself to sleep every nite because their is no food in your country due to sanctions.

It's just that people seem to be dividing when we should be uniting and maybe it scares me. I don't know..




written on 2003-03-05 at 1:30 p.m.

she / lost