a little bit of a resurrection
my life journal: cutmedown








Harmless


I had an okay day. It was nice spending some time with my family, I guess. When I came home though, I was hanging out with all my friends and I wound up coming home early because they are all (once again) doing fucking drugs, well just smoking herb. And they were all going up to some fucking place to go drive and smoke or whatever. I just had them drop me off before the festivities started.

I know I used to smoke weed alot and drink alot. But that was when I was a fucking sophomore in high school. Sometimes I wonder if these people are ever going to grow the fuck up. I guess everyone thinks it's "harmless."

I wonder if they saw Brooke's fucking sixteen year old face smashed into black pavement, her blonde hair soaked in red blood and her little sister crying fucking hysterically on her knees next to her mangled lifeless body on a Monday afternoon, if they would think smoking a little bud is harmless. Because that is all that guy was doing, he was just smoking a little herb. And she is dead. She was sixteen fucking years old and she is dead, because his judgement was just a little bit off.

But no, my friends are good, they can handle it, they can drive, "Oh I drive better stoned than I do sober." I wish I had a dime for everytime one of them said that. But more than that, I wish I could have fucking stopped Brooke from crossing that road. Maybe if she would have just taken that step one second later. Maybe if that bastard behind the wheel hadn't been smoking marijuanna that day, then he would have seen her sooner. I guess there's a thousand maybe's, but nothing will ever change the fact that she is laying in the ground now, in a wooden box covered in dirt. And my friends are out getting stoned and driving around.


written on 2002-12-16 at 12:27 a.m.

she / lost