a little bit of a resurrection
my life journal: cutmedown








wisdom teeth nightmare


I am very afraid. I just got back from the oral surgeon. The worst of my suspicions has been confirmed. I am having all four of my wisdom teeth out on Wednesday.

The bottom two are impacted. The top left is growing in sideways. One way or another they're all coming out of there. I am happy, yet terrified. I have been in excruciating pain for the past week because the two widsom teeth on the right side of my mouth, are jutting into my gum & cheek, so that everytime I bite down I am chewing flesh. Ughh.. very painful. So I am happy to be getting them out to stop this madness, but I am so scared!!

I sound like a whiny, little, two year-old baby, I know. The thing is that I have never, ever had any kind of surgery. Nothing, never a broken bone, never a stitch, never an anesthetic.. And now this!?

Wednesday morning, I will go to the oral surgeon at 9:00 am. He will give me an IV in the arm, an IV!! Whereas I will fall asleep & wake up a few hours later, 4 wisdom teeth for the lesser.

Then I will be laid up for several days, unable to eat, and swollen up like a fat, fat chipmunk. There will be stitches where each of the removals took place & there will be regular bleeding after the surgery, so I will be constantly changing gauze.

The oral surgeon, Doctor Frye, (highly reccomended by all of my friends in the dentistry field,) had to warn me of the possible risks. The worst of which is the possibility that because the wisdom teeth are so close to a nerve in the jaw, there is a chance of nerve damage causing permanent numbness in the lower lip & chin. Oh dear, I feel faint just thinking about all of this.




written on 2004-05-14 at 11:16 a.m.

she / lost