a little bit of a resurrection
my life journal: cutmedown








stream of thoughts


I am about to make a list of the things that are on my mind. Yes I know this is a very blas� thing to do, but I'm sort of desperate for an outlet right now & not the creative kind.

1. I have to write four very difficult papers within the next two weeks. A paper on "The Heart of Darkness" for British Literature, a paper on Anorexia & Bulimia for Psychology, a paper about ethics for Philosophy, and a paper evaluating criticism of "The Scarlet Letter" for American Literature.

I feel overwhelmed, I want to take a Zanex so badly. Zanex makes me forget my problems, well not forget them, but completely not care about them. It's amazing when I take Zanex, it's like I'm not even me. I am like one of my loser, druggie friends; but no that's not me. So I will not take a Zanex, because I am not an irresponsible loser. I am a driven, independent young woman with a near perfect GPA & I intend to keep it that way. So, if anyone has written a paper on any of the above subjects & is willing to share some ideas with me, I would be really, really grateful.

2. Next issue at hand is my job. I have been there since August & I really & truly love it, but I genuinely feel that it is time to move on. It is simply not for me anymore. For those of you who don't know what I do, I am a life enrichment assistant (ie. activities person) at an assisted living center. Sound wonderful, right? Wrong! Lately the place has been going to shambles, it is no longer an assisted living center, it is a full blown nursing home, and that is not what I signed up for. My job is activities, not other gross stuff that I don't want to do, nor am I qualified to do.

Above & beyond that whole issue there are other problems. I really like my boss, but she does not realize how incredibly insensitive & hurtful she can be. I have tried to bring this up to her, but every time I do she completely shuts me out & changes the subject. Furthermore, there is only 5 people in my department, myself & one other girl share the weekends. Yes that's right, two girls doing every other weekend. When one of us goes away on vacation or the like, the other has to cover both weekends. Fourth of July weekend we are both going away, so basically since that is my weekend that means that I can't go away. It sucks, I think it is completely unfair that whenever one of the other women in my department calls out or goes on vacation, I pick up their hours, yet when I want to go away, no one will help me out because it's a weekend thing?!

Finally the last issue with my job is this. I do not intend to work in the fall. I am taking five or six very strenuous classes & possibly pledging for a sorority, I will not have time to work. So my plan is to work my ass off all summer so that I can afford to not work in the fall. Sounds good right? Yea until yesterday when my boss tells me, "Oh Dena are you going to summer school?" I say, "No." She says, "Oh well maybe you should consider picking up another part-time job because I am not going to be able to give you anymore hours." Well, really I think that was the straw that broke the camel's back.

Amidst all this there is some good news. My mother & I have been feeding my neighbor's cat for the past week or so because they went on vacation. Before they left we went over so they could show us the things we needed to do. Well, she runs a summer camp nearby & she was wondering if I'd like a job there for the summer. I said no thank you because at that point I really wasn't seriously considering leaving my job. But at this point, I think it would be a great idea. I could work all summer, make the money that I need & then be free in the fall. So as soon as she comes back I am going to talk to her about what positions are open. I know she will give me the best because I've known her my whole life, really good friends of the family, plus I've been taking care of her stinkin' cat, so she owes me! (Just kidding he's cute.)

~~~~~

Alright I am going to leave it at that I highly doubt that anyone even got to this point with all the nonsense above. I just needed to get it out, there's more but I can't type anymore right now.

xo


written on 2004-04-16 at 11:56 a.m.

she / lost